Lethe band photo

Genre-defying duo Lethe reveal album details, new single & video.

Following the inevitable delays that the past few years have wrought on new releases, LETHE are finally back with their third full-length album, scheduled for release on Dark Essence Records on the 24th April. 

Titled “Alienation” the album continues to explore LETHE’s idiosyncratic soundscapes, described variously as “genre-bending”, “style-bastardization”, “eclectic”, and even “just plain weird”. However, this time the Swiss/Norwegian duo of Tor-Helge Skei (MANES, MANII etc.) and Anna Murphy (CELLAR DARLING, ex-ELUVEITIE) also dip their toes into new territories.

And, whilst waiting for the release date to arrive, Dark Essence Records have today released “Erosion” a track taken from the album, and about which LETHE had this to say:

It’s hard to pick out one song to represent the album, but ‘Erosion’ might give a little clue about what you can expect from the “Alienation”. Or not.. Joining us on the song are Tor Arne Helgesen on drums, Eivind Fjøseide on guitars and Marita Hellem on vocals.

“Erosion” can be downloaded or streamed on various services at:


Accompanying the single is a video comprised of clips taken from  ‘Point of Return’ (University of Oklahoma), which can be seen here:

Formed in 2012 and taking their name from one of the five rivers in Hades in Greek mythology, LETHE was originally created as a home for Anna and Tor-Helge’s musical and artistic experimentation. And, right from the start, the duo made it very clear that the only rule is that there are no rules, no expectations and no compromises.   

This has resulted in the band being able to experiment on every level, whilst being absolutely unafraid of  incorporating melody and catchiness into their sound.  LETHE’s music is therefore  quite personal and different. A unique melting pot of dark rock, pop, electronic, experimentation and metal, filled with an atmosphere that is cold and harsh and into which are interwoven beautiful melodies and mesmerizing grooves.

Lethe - Alienation cover photo

With artwork by Tom Korsvold “Alienation” will be available in CD, Digital and Limited Edition Purple Vinyl, and track listing is as follows:

  1. Anhedonia
  2. Brighter
  3. When it’s Over
  4. Éternel
  5. Crossroads
  6. Sedator
  7. Erosion
  8. Worm

“”Alienation” is now available to pre-order from:

darkessence.indiemerch.com (US webshop)

Commenting on the album, LETHE explained that: 

“Alienation” took years longer than planned, because of a lot of things, circumstances far beyond our control, but it’s finally here! The 3rd chapter of the Lethe saga! As always, it’s an eclectic blend of expressions and atmospheres and moods, and not many defined borders, styles or rules.. Lyrically it’s about being outsiders, outcasts, and alienated in various forms, mentally, physically, ideologic(ally).. and musically.. (hence the album title).. So, join us on another journey, a personal and alternate one..

More information about LETHE can be found on the band’s Facebook page at facebook.com/LetheProject or on their website at torhelgeskei.com/lethe/

Shopping Cart