Madder Mortem photo by Camilla Nesset & Knut J. Berget.

Dark Essence Records release new single from upcoming Madder Mortem album.

With the release date of MADDER MORTEM  “Old Eyes, New Heart”, fast approaching, Dark Essence Records have today revealed a new track from the album.  Titled “Unity”, it is, according to the band:

A song about not lying to oneself, facing reality head-on and with honesty. Musically, “Unity” blends Muse-ish excess with Eastern rhythmic and melodic influences and a sing-along chorus, all wrapped in a very Madder Mortem mix of heaviness and atmosphere.

“Unity” can be downloaded or streamed from a variety of services at:

Set for release on the 26th January, “Old Eyes, New Heart” is the eighth full-length album from MADDER MORTEM, a band that has never sought to fit into any particular category, but has preferred rather to draw upon styles such as Prog and Metal, Rock and Extreme, much to the delight of their many fans.

With “Old Eyes, New Heart”, MADDER MORTEM’s lineup of Agnete M. Kirkevaag on vocals, BP M. Kirkevaag on guitar & vocals, Anders Langberg on guitars, Tormod L. Moseng on bass and Mads Solås on drums have created a work that follows many unexpected directions ranging  from post-metal heaviness to soft Americana grooves and everything in between.

Recorded and produced by BP M. Kirkevaag, the album is an exploration of hope, disappointment, and the ambivalence between them. It is, essentially, music that comes from old hearts and deep roots, with new eyes open to the unlimited possibilities of 12 notes. But, as always, MADDER MORTEM’s intention is to write a good, honest song. And with “Old Eyes, New Heart” they have succeeded admirably.

But it is also an album whose creation has not been without turmoil, and with it also came the  heartbreak that was felt at the death of Jakob Kirkevaag, the much-loved father of band members Agnete and BP, and a man whose unfailing support has been so important to MADDER MORTEM from its very inception almost 30 years ago. 

“Old Eyes, New Heart”, is, in fact, dedicated to Jakob, an artist in his own right, who sadly did not live long-enough to see or hear the finished work. However, his contribution to the band lives on, because, with the help of MADDER MORTEM’s long-time collaborator, the artist and video producer Costin Chioreanu, two of Jakob’s original paintings were adapted to form the cover art for “Old Eyes, New Heart”.

Madder Mortem - Old Eyes, New Heart CD

“Old Eyes, New Heart”, will be available in CD, Digital, and Limited Edition LP formats in White Vinyl (limited to 250 copies) and Blue Vinyl (limited to 250 copies), and can now be pre-ordered from:

US Webshop:

Tracklisting on “Old Eyes, New Heart” is as follows:

  1. Coming from the Dark
  2. On Guard
  3. Master Tongue
  4. The Head that Wears the Crown
  5. Cold Hard Rain
  6. Unity
  7. Towers
  8. Here and Now
  9. Things I’ll Never Do
  10. Long Road

A release party for will be held at the Rockefeller / John Dee / Sentrum Scene in Oslo, Norway on the 3rd February, and fans will also be able to see MADDER MORTEM perform at this year’s Inferno Metal Festival in Oslo on Saturday 30th March.

A video by Patrick Scantlebury for “Towers” the recently released first single from “Old Eyes, New Heart” can be seen at

More information about MADDER MORTEM can be found on Facebook at or on the band’s website at

Shopping Cart