Free shipping over 100€ +

Avantgarde metallers If Nothing Is debut track from upcoming album.

Having recently added Avantgarde Metallers IF NOTHING is to its roster, Dark Essence Records have wasted no time in planning the release of the band’s 2015 self-titled debut album, which originally saw the light of day only through a limited selection of digital platforms, and never received the kind of exposure that the brainchild of DØDHEIMSGARD bassist Lars Emil Måløy richly deserved.

If Nothing Is - If Nothing Is CD
Front cover painting by: Ulf Simon Lindgren

The album itself has been completely  re-mixed and re-mastered, and ranges from thrash, speed and death to black metal, and which, as a consequence, is the embodiment of what lies at the heart of extreme and technical metal music. And today, Dark Essence Records have given us a taste of what to expect with the release of the track “Anti Horde”, about which IF NOTHING IS have this to say:

A decade after it was written the “Anti Horde” rises to new heights with an updated mix and new mastering. “Anti Horde” is about disowning the alpha stereotypes, humiliating leader figures and taking your own path. It is an action we condone, no matter what your path might be (as long as it is leftwards) . To this day this track still gives us goose bumps, so give it a spin. You might even like it!

The track “Anti Horde” can be downloaded or streamed from a variety of services at:

“If Nothing Is” is an album that melds sharp technical skills and creative songwriting with a keen eye for detail and a streak of madness. It is intersected with progressive, experimental passages and rich jazzy parts, with each song a journey in itself. 

If Nothing Is - If Nothing Is Vinyl

With DØDHEIMSGARD’s Vicotnik weaving his magic on synths, beats and samples, and with brand new original artwork by Ulf Simon Lindgren “If Nothing Is” will hit the streets for the first time ever on CD and double transparent vinyl formats as well as digitally on the 10th September. Track listing as follows:

1. 101
2. Sovereign
3. Juvenihil
4. Anti Horde
5. Dominant Outlaw Nation
6. Postapo Calypso
7. Darkspace Navigator
8. Intermezzanine
9. Apsylum Absolute
10. If Nothing Is

“If Nothing Is” is available to pre-order now from the following:

Dark Essence Records Webshop
If Nothing Is Bandcamp
Dark Essence Records US Webshop

Formed in Trondheim, Norway, in 2008, IF NOTHING IS started life as the extreme metal band REVOCATION, and, along with the name change, cane a new musical direction for the lineup that today comprises Boeddelen on vocals and lyrics, Håkon Grytvik and Mats Stenberg on guitars,  Lars Emil Måløy on  bass, FX, backing vocals, lyrics, main composer and Vegard Myrdal Berg on drums, backing vocals and lyrics.

More information about IF NOTHING IS can be found on the band’s Facebook page.

More To Explore

Taake "Avvik" album out now


New album by TAAKE out now!
“Avvik” is available as limited edition digipack (3000 ex, one pressing only) and in digital formats. All six songs from the recent split 10″ releases (some of them in new versions), plus an exclusive acoustic version of Nattestid ser Porten vid 1.


Dark Essence Records set to release CD version of TAAKE tracks from recent 10″ split series.

TAAKE have released a series of 10″ splits with three different bands (WHOREDOM RIFE, DEATHCULT and HELHEIM), on three different labels, and, as always happens in the case of vinyl releases, fans have been asking for a CD version. 2nd July, they will be releasing a limited edition Digipak CD, along with a Digital version, of the six TAAKE tracks from the series, along with a very special acoustic version of “Nattestid ser Porten vid I”, acknowledged by Black Metal fans the world-over as not only a classic TAAKE track, but a classic of the whole genre itself.